Blog Hoppin’

I was nominated by Knit out loud to participate in a blog hop about the creative process.  I’ve never really considered myself “creative” per se but I guess my obsession with knitting does qualify as “creative”.  So, here it goes:

 

1. What am I working on?

More projects than I should have on the go at once!  Since I’m travelling for work this week I brought with me a plain sock (for meeting knitting); my two at a time socks (in case I have some free time; very unlikely but I can dream); and a dishcloth that always travels in my purse (not the same dishcloth; that would be weird).

 

2. How does my work differ from others of its genre?

Coffee stains from my not-as-empty-as-I-thought travel mug?  Seriously, I’m always amazed at how different people can knit the same pattern and have it turn out so differently. I tend to be a bit less adventurous in what I make.

 

3. Why do I write/create what I do?

Most of what I knit is given as gifts and is usually knit with the recipient in mind. I don’t consider myself a yarn snob, but my preference for wool over acrylic comes from years of hearing my grandparents and parents say that wool is the warmest fabric.  That being said, I’m a big fan of super wash wool because I realize that hand washing kids’ mittens is not likely to occur within my family.

 

4. How does my writing/creating process work?

I don’t really think I have a creative process…but  I tend to stick to practical, usable things (socks, hats, dishcloths). Sometimes I’ll get the urge to try something a bit different or more challenging (lace, two socks on one circular).  I knit a lot while I’m doing something else, so I generally like a simple, repetitive pattern.

 

I’ve enjoyed being part of this hop, so I’d like to nominate the following blogs I enjoy reading to answer the same questions:

Den

Ready to Knit

Hard Knit Life

You should “hop” on over and check them out! 🙂