Focus on What’s Done

I’ve been a little frustrated with my knitting lately. Too many projects seeing too little progress. I thought it might help me shake some of my funk to talk about a couple of projects I did finish now that they’ve been given as gifts.

The first was a GAP-tastic Cowl that I gave my sister-in-law for her birthday. It was a quick, fun knit that I loved.

IMG_4777
Another awkward selfie.

I used Plymouth Yarn Chunky Merino Superwash.  I really liked the yarn except that each of the 3 skeins had a knot. I didn’t think I was a cowl person but I kind of would like to knit one for myself.

My second completed project was socks for Dad for Father’s Day. He tried on a pair of socks I knit for my brother last year and said they were the best socks I’d knit. They are also my brother’s current favourite.  The only difference I could think of was the yarn (I had used Regia sock yarn); the needles and pattern were the ones I always used.  So for this year’s socks, I used Regia’s Racing Colour yarn. I love the subtle pattern after they were knit.

Racing Colour Socks
Racing Colour Socks

I ordered 2 balls of the yarn because I find men’s socks can be right on the edge about whether you can complete a pair from one 100 gram ball. The fact I’m anal about making the stripes line up sometimes results in significant leftovers depending on the length of the pattern repeat. I finished this pair with 6 grams of yarn left (28 yards). Looks like another pair will appear sometime in the future.