I Hate All the Knitting

Ok, so maybe I don’t hate ALL the knitting, but mostly, yes I do hate it right now. My niece came in my knitting TV room and counted 15 balls of yarn I have with me.  I think it’s a fair assessment that I am annoyed with about half of them right now.

 

I brought yarn with me to start the Cascade Knitterati Afghan. I had purchased yarn for another afghan a couple of years ago and didn’t finish it. I thought this would be a great chance to repurpose the yarn.

 

Casting on tonight. #KnitterartiAfghan #Cascade220Superwash #KnittersOfInstagram

A post shared by Bonnie Morse (@bhmorse) on

 

I started knitting and realized I don’t like the brown.  More than that, there’s too little contrast between it and the green, particularly for a colour work square.

img_6198

img_6199

 

See what I mean.  I’ve already ripped the square back to take out the green/brown section. I’m now debating ordering a darker brown, which is starting to diminish the benefit of “I’ll use yarn I already have”. **sigh**.  I’ve pushed that to the far end of the couch.

 

So while I pondered an additional yarn purchase, I hauled out a scarf I brought to finish. It’s an easy 4 line pattern repeat. Easy enough to follow along…wrong:

img_6195

 

img_6196

 

See that nice switch from right side to wrong side? It’s at the end of the couch now too with the afghan til I work up the fortitude to rip it back.

 

I’d pick up a dishcloth but:

 

img_6193

 

That’s right, I mucked up the twists in that. I have ripped it back but I’ve only made it worse:

 

img_6200

 

I don’t know whether to laugh or cry.  I’d pick up my old standby socks but I’m a little afraid of what I’d do to the them.  I think I’ll have a nap and see what it looks like after. If nothing else maybe I’ll be ready to start something over. **sigh**

5 thoughts on “I Hate All the Knitting

  1. There are days when you are simply not meant to knit, so I think you’re wise to let your socks aside. I’ve had a few of these too, where everything I touched seemed to go wrong. It will get better…

    Liked by 1 person

I'm wondering what you're thinking?

