Cable Cape

I’ve felt for a while like I’ve been in a knitting rut: I’m not really trying new things; I have my go-to projects and patterns and I haven’t really strayed far from them. I want to try this year to attempt new patterns through I know there’s going to be plenty of the old standbys as well.

 
I have a multitude of pattern books acquired with great intentions of projects to come. Knitting Gifts for Baby I actually won in a contest on a blog a couple of years ago. My youngest niece is quite likely the last baby in the family for a while so with her first birthday this past week, my opportunity for baby knits was diminishing rapidly.

 


I’ve had a bit of an obsession with capes lately and when I saw the photo of the cable cape I knew I had to try it. Cables have always been a bit of a nemesis for me: they seem too complicated that I’m a little intimidated to try. In an effort to break out of a rut it seemed like a good project to start with. I cast on just after finishing my Christmas knitting (i.e., December 29) and wrapped it up only a couple of days late for the birthday party. It was a relatively easy knit, and the couple of times I screwed up a cable I’ve chosen to include as a design element.  I added a couple of extra cables because I was worried that 18-24 months wouldn’t fit my long-legged niece for long, but I think it’s actually a bit long for her right now. She should be able to use it for a while though.

 

img_5636

 

img_5637

 

~~~

Pattern:  Cable Cape

Yarn: Cascade 220 Superwash Aran in (ironically) Aran

Needles: Knitter’s Pride Interchanges US 8 and 9 (5 and 5.5 mm) Marblz and Royale

2 thoughts on “Cable Cape

  1. Cables are much easier than you think, the only trap is to miss a row and then get everything messed up, but once you get the hang of it, they’re quite addictive. This is a lovely cape, and Cascade is a great choice for baby knits as it washes easily.

    Liked by 1 person

I'm wondering what you're thinking?

