The Only Way Out

img_5066

 

This fall I read my second murder mystery set on Grand Manan. As a disclaimer, I should mention murder is pretty rare on the island as is most violent crime. I sometimes forget to lock my doors and I leave the keys in my car while at work. I still have my car but sometimes the wind will blow my door open.

 

That being said, I really enjoyed the story in this book. It was written by an ex-RCMP officer who, while never stationed on Grand Manan, did work a few shifts on the island. There were some inconsistencies between real life and the book (some of which he acknowledges) but I didn’t find them jarring or disruptive to the narrative. The fact it was set in the 1960s also helped in that regard. In fact, it was easy to picture some of the places and events in the book: the unrelenting fog for days springs to mind. The mystery portion was intriguing enough to keep my interest without being so tense I couldn’t sleep at night (an important component of my nighttime reading).  I’d definitely recommend this book as a mystery and for its Grand Manan connection.

 

Fall also means a rash of birthdays with a double whammy in the middle of the month. Since their birth, my nieces have worn pink and purple which was sometimes the only way I could identify who was who. So, their birthday mittens reflected those colours. (My own pattern in Knit Picks Swish Worsted Brights Vibrant Violet and Pucker).

 

Linking up with other Yarn Along readers and knitters.

One thought on “The Only Way Out

I'm wondering what you're thinking?

