Today I Wore a Pantsuit

I got up this morning and put on a pantsuit. It’s not something I do everyday, but today I needed to dress up, and, well, a pantsuit just seemed appropriate.

 

I was still reeling in disbelief from what had happened last night in the United States. How had the polls been so wrong?

 

Part of me understood: this disconnect between urban and rural. When government seems so removed from the reality of everyday life. When decisions are made that impact your life by people who if the truth were told consider themselves better than you (or at least smarter). When decisions can be influenced by individuals and corporations with money at the expense of communities or or those with less.

 

I get it. I lived in Atlantic Canada under the Conservative government, where at least part of the Liberals sweep to power here can attributed to that disenfranchisement.

 

Was that really what this was about?

 

Was part of it because Hillary was a woman and there’s part of the population that just can’t accept that a woman could be as (or more) effective than a man as president? Or was it because it was that particular woman…

 

As a disclaimer, I’ve always respected Hillary, both as First Lady and later as a politician in her own right. I’ve always suspected she’s the smartest person in the room but without some of the natural charisma that Bill Clinton or Barrack Obama or Donald Trump seem to possess. Maybe that’s why my socially awkward self has found her relatable.

 

This morning I’m asking the question that many people are asking: how do you reconcile these fractured pieces? Can it even be done? Is it possible for a woman to be elected President of the United States? Can the disconnect between rural and urban; blue collar and white collar be melded? Is a man who is the epitome moneyed influence more capable of all of that than a woman who is the epitome the political establishment?

 

Only time will tell. In the meantime, I’ll wear my pantsuits when I have to and hope that 4 years from now the lense that we use to view the world will have changed to be more cohesive than it feels this morning.

One thought on “Today I Wore a Pantsuit

  1. Good post Bonnie. I sort of went to bed mourning over what I thought the new day would bring and then woke up shocked by the surprise and went back to mourning again. Hillary is an intelligent lady … no question. If her candidacy had been more like her concession, she would be the President elect … I think?

    Liked by 1 person

I'm wondering what you're thinking?

