The Striped Hat

A month or so ago I received the “Knit Simple” fall 2016 magazine in the mail. I’m a fan of uncomplicated patterns and hats have held a particular appeal for me lately so when I saw a pattern for a striped hat with texture changes, it looked like just the project for me. A quick search of my stash confirmed I had the yarn for the project.*

 

I decided to wait and cast on as one of my Ravellenics projects. However, being me I didn’t read the instructions much beyond determining I had the correct weight of yarn. You can image my shock and horror to discover that the hat was knit flat and seemed up at the end. Why would someone deliberately make a hat that would require sewing??? Weeks later I still find the concept incomprehensible.  So, I did the only logical thing: I knit it in the round.

 

My second issue was that the number of stitches cast on was not divisible by 8 for the knit 4, purl 4 brim. I think it would make sense if you were, you know, following the pattern and seaming it up. Clearly that wasn’t going to be me, so I adjusted the cast on number to be divisible by 4, and did a standard knit 2, purl 2 for the brim.**

 

Despite my grumbling above, I really liked the pattern for the hat and how it turned out. The texture gives the stripes a bit more definition. It’s a great pattern for using up leftover bits of worsted yarn.

 

img_3570

 

As for the Ravellenics, I loved that the colours matched the Team Canada uniforms, particularly in the track competitions. While I didn’t finish both projects I started, I did manage to complete this one during the Olympics, so I officially completed my first Ravellenics project in the Hat Dash. Yay me! 🙂

 

 

img_0410

 

~~~

Pattern: Striped Pompom Hat

Yarn: Cascade 200 Superwash (red and white); Knit Picks Swish Tonal (thunderhead); and Knit Picks Swish Worsted (black)

Needles: Knitter’s Pride Marblz interchangeables and dpns US 7 (4.5 mm)

~~~

 

 

*Who am I kidding? I have enough yarn for many, many hats in my stash.

**I think I’m becoming more anal about how I like to knit. This can’t bode well for future projects.

2 thoughts on “The Striped Hat

I'm wondering what you're thinking?

