Seven Days

A couple of weeks my Facebook feed was abuzz about a mystery novel that was set on Grand Manan.  While it wouldn’t necessarily be a book I would choose to read, the idea of a book set on the island was too good to pass up.

 

img_2926
I have to admit, I struggled to get into the book. Parts of the book (particularly the geography) are so bang on that the parts that aren’t are even more jarring. Some of the descriptions of the island residents, their values, and the fishery aggravated me because of some of the inaccuracies.  About a third of the way into the book, I began to accept that while the book was set on Grand Manan, it wasn’t set on “my” Grand Manan. I started to enjoy the parts that rang true and let slide those that didn’t. I even realized that one of the things that bothered me from the beginning was actually part of the resolution. 😀

 

Had the book not been set on the island, I likely wouldn’t have stuck it out to the finish, but by the end I was anxious to see “who done it”.  I guess in the end it “got me”.

 

Meanwhile, I’m in the midst of seven days of travel for work. There hasn’t been a lot of knitting time until today’s meeting, but I’m working on finishing some travel knitting that I’ve been carrying for a while, namely a sock and a dishcloth.

 

Linking up with other Yarn Along posts.

2 thoughts on “Seven Days

    1. Hmmm; can I say a qualified yes? I recommend it because it is set on Grand Manan. Language is off colour at times but the story has a decent hook though it took a while to get there. I’m probably not going to pick up any of his other books, but it was interesting to read a book set on the island. (His description of sunsets at the Whistle was so bizarrely accurate in made me laugh). 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

I'm wondering what you're thinking?

