The Rainbow Comes and Goes

I’ve been on a bit of a non-fiction run with my reading lately. One of the hi-lights has been this autobiography, “The Rainbow Comes and Goes”, by Gloria Vanderbilt and Anderson Cooper.

 

img_2372

 

I remember watching Anderson Cooper on “The Mole” (I was a bit of a reality show junkie for a while) and was amazed as he transformed into a serious journalist on CNN. Growing up in the 80’s I knew Gloria Vanderbilt because of her jeans.  Bits and pieces of her story crept into my consciousness but I didn’t really understand how varied her life was until I read the book.

 

The book itself is easy to read; it’s billed as a series of emails between the two over the course of a year. While there may have been some prompts to move the story along, it is like listening to a conversation between a mother and son who have lived remarkable (and tragic) lives in the public eye. Their perseverance though different ways of dealing with that tragedy is as fascinating as it is inspirational. CNN also aired a documentary “Nothing Left Unsaid” a few weeks ago that mirrored the book. I waited until I finished reading to watch it. As always, I’m glad I read the book first but it was interesting to add the visuals.

 

As for the knitting, it’s been a lot of mittens, because what child doesn’t want a pair of mittens for their May birthday? (As cold as it’s been, I’m not ruling out the potential for them actually to be used before next winter.) 😉

 

Linking up with other Yarn Along posts about reading and knitting.

 

5 thoughts on “The Rainbow Comes and Goes

  1. I’ve been wondering about the book – I do lover Anderson!! Great link for the reading and knitting posts, I’m definitely going to check it out!!

    Like

I'm wondering what you're thinking?

