Catching Up With Ketchup

img_2339

 

If you were in Canada last winter, you no doubt heard that French’s ketchup is now being made with tomatoes grown in Canada and made into paste at the former Heinz plant in Leamington, Ontario that was closed 2 years ago. Leamington has always been associated with its tomatoes and the ketchup plant. The gift bags we received from a meeting there years ago even had little bottles of Heinz ketchup.

 

I have to admit, I’ve always been a Heinz ketchup girl.  I remember trying other ketchup in restaurants as a kid and not liking them as well. (That could also be related to my overall fussy eating specific food choices as a child). I like the idea of buying products made in Canada, but I also like my Heinz ketchup. It didn’t really matter for a while because French’s ketchup was almost impossible to find in stores. A couple of weeks ago I came across a couple bottles of the “buffalo ketchup” and thought I’d give it a try. I tend to like spicy foods, but the ketchup wasn’t “hot”; instead it had the flavour of buffalo chicken without the heat, blended with the tomato-y ketchup.  I think it’s probably better to transition with a slightly different ketchup, so I’m ready for bbq season with my Canadian tomato based ketchup.

 

PS:  I was a little weirded out by the “1 bottle = 1 meal” but then I saw this and it all made sense:

9 thoughts on “Catching Up With Ketchup

  1. You know I have to make a comment … can you buy this locally? Also Elaine makes the best Buffalo Chicken wings that I have ever had, as hot as you might want them. We were living near Buffalo years ago when they made their debut. You have to sample them.

    Like

  2. A bottle = a meal…in an alternate universe where pizza = vegetables. I shudder to think of what would happen to the stomach of a person that takes this literally. Only in North America. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You know…it’s funny! I did not know that you are Canadian too! How ’bout that! Since I’m a 50-percenter (half US/half Canadian) I don’t quite get the ketchup debate, but it’s going to be weird giving up the ol’ Heinz.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I’m from New Brunswick. 🇨🇦

      It’s interesting to me how ketchup became such a flashpoint for “local” products; it’s not a product I thought much about beyond trying to buy it on sale. 😀

      Like

  4. Love the new design!!! And, I’ve always been a Heinz girl as well. That is the scariest bottle of ketchup I’ve ever seen. The bottle = meal was the first thing I noticed!!

    Liked by 1 person

I'm wondering what you're thinking?

