Into the Land Of Knit

img_2008
This photo has basically summed up my free time the past week or so: knitting, a book, and a (thankfully) sleeping dog.

 

Just before vacation I started a baby blanket in the last of my Patons Melody yarn for my newest niece. It’s coming along well, but it’s a blanket, so progress sometimes feels a bit slow.

 

I’ve been engrossed in “Knitlandia” by Clara Parkes. The essays on various knitting trips and adventures transport you to the place and time. Her description of a knitter’s trip to Iceland sounds at times a bit like an outward bound adventure and makes me want to go and avoid it at the same time. I chuckled again at the story of how 30,000 knitters (completely confounding tech support) shut down the servers attempting to register for the now defunct Sock Summit. While I’ll never have the opportunity to experience many of these trips, I feel a bit more connected to the different feel and spirit of each event. I highly recommend the book to any knitter who has, or has dreamed, of knitting travel.

 

Check out other Yarn Along posts for other knitting and reading related posts.

 

I'm wondering what you're thinking?

