The OJ Case

I admit it: I was an OJ Simpson trial junkie. I watched the Bronco chase as it happened. I watched the afternoons of the trial after work (the 4 hour time difference to LA came in really handy.) I watched Marcia Clark explain she had child care issues when court was running late. I was mystified by Kato Kaelin (Still am). I thought of Kim Kardashian as Robert Kardashian’s daughter for years (Still do). I felt sympathy and horror for the families of the victims during the trial. I was shocked and horrified with the verdict.

 

I devoured books about the trial: “His Name is Ron”; “Without a Doubt”; and “In Contempt” still sit on my bookshelves. I at one point owned both of Faye Resnick’s books but gave them away. I bought Vanity Fair every month to read Dominick Dunne’s articles. I may have been was am a bit obsessed.

 

I’ve been watching the series “American Crime Story: The People vs. OJ Simpson” for the past month or so. (I changed my satellite package so I’d get the channel – obsessed!) What has struck me again watching it is is how far-fetched the events would have seemed in a fictional account but how dramatic and riveting they were at the time. Twenty-two years later, they still are.  And apparently are still ongoing.

 

My Facebook feed yesterday popped up stories about a knife being found on the Rockingham property during construction. It was given to a retired officer who held onto it for years and it only recently came to light.  It is apparently being tested for DNA residue. The timing to coincide with the mini-series airing is quite remarkable, but what really struck me was F. Lee Bailey saying it must have been planted.

 

Really?

 

  • Twenty-two years.
  • A civil trial conviction.
  • Jail time for robbery and kidnapping.
  • No other evidence or suspects. Ever.
  • A “fictional” confession. (By the way, “If I Did It” is one of the few trial books I haven’t read)

 

The more things change, the more they stay the same.  Possible should be mistaken for plausible.

In the meantime, I hear there’s a marathon of “American Crime Story” tonight to take advantage of the pubicity surrounding the finding of the knife. I’m making the popcorn. 😜🍿

 

5 thoughts on “The OJ Case

  1. Ok, so here’s my deal with it. I, like you, watched every day when I got home from work or wherever and it was the year after I graduated from college and was trying to figure out what to do next. I decided that being a lawyer didn’t look that hard after watching that trial and went to law school. I kick myself everyday for that decision!!! I haven’t watched the mini series yet, mostly because I couldn’t get over Ross playing Robert Kardashian but maybe I’ll have to check it out. I’m home sick today so I can watch onDemand!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lol – Ross as Robert Kardashian was bizarre at first, but it didn’t take long to transition. John Travolta as Robert Shapiro is surreal (especially the eyebrows)!

      Like

I'm wondering what you're thinking?

