Afterthought Heel 2.0

Over the past year or so, I’ve been using an afterthought heel a lot, especially when knitting with yarns with long colour changes (Knit Picks Felici for example). I’m a bit a lot anal about socks that match and I like that the afterthought heel doesn’t disrupt the colour sequence.

 

One of the things I don’t like about it is picking up the stitches from the waste yarn. I find it challenging to manipulate the second row of needles with the first ones already picked up; the sock becomes decidedly inflexible. It’s doable, I just tend to avoid it, which is why I ended up with 4 pair of socks waiting for heels in the week leading up to Christmas.

 

img_1615-1

 

Last week in my typical bumbling fashion miscounted the number of needles I had knit with the waste yarn for the heel. Apparently counting to two was a bit complex for me. 😜 Anyway, since I had cut the yarn, I used another piece to finish the second needle:

img_1613

 

As I was picking up the stitches, I realized that this blunder was actually working in my favour.  I picked up the first two needles worth of stitches and took out the waste yarn:

img_1626

 

Withdrew the waste yarn and picked up the last of the stitches:

 

img_1628-1

 

That little bit of extra flexibility made it much easier and I feel less likely to miss a stitch. The same could be achieved by picking up half, releasing the waste yarn and then picking up the rest, but I like the idea of having a delineated stopping point. (Did I mention I was a bit a lot anal? 😜) Looking back, this seems so logical I can’t believe I didn’t try it before; and I’m sure it’s probably been included in a lot of how-to’s, but mostly I’m just happy I discovered my mistake before I’d knit half the foot of the sock. 🙂

 

 

As a bonus: my first pair of Christmas 2016 socks are done; only 9 more pairs to go. 🙂

 

img_1631

 

Yarn: Knit Picks Felici in Mosaic

Needles: a combo of my Knit Picks metal DPNs and my Addi Flip Stixs

Pattern: a hodge-podge that have melded in my version of vanilla socks

6 thoughts on “Afterthought Heel 2.0

  1. These socks are great! So cosy looking 🙂 I really ought to get on with my own… But the wifi on the metro lets me be distracted, I mean inspired, by everyone else’s socks! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is an interesting way to attack that problem. I didn’t like the afterthought heel for just that reason. I’ve switched to fish lips kiss heel which involves no picking up of stitches but you can’t manipulate the stripes as much.

    Liked by 1 person

I'm wondering what you're thinking?

