A Tale of Two Hats

img_1047

The new year is bringing a new niece or nephew at the end of the month. Since my brother and sister-in-law opt to be surprised it means I’ve been working on a hat for both genders. The hats seem so small but  it’s been almost 3 years since we’ve had a baby in the family and it’s easy to forget how tiny they are.

 

I used the Simon and Simone pattern which has different i-cord toppers for a boy or girl. (I really like the bow). I had to go down a needle size to 3.5 mm to get gauge and because I didn’t like the way the colours were pooling in the pink hat.

I wanted a soft yarn for his or her first piece of clothing so I used some madelinetosh pashmina from a grab bag impulsively purchased last year. The pink is Cape Town Rainbow while the blue-grey is a mystery because:

img_0991

I had to have another discussion with my nieces and nephews about yarn that is for play and yarn that isn’t. **sigh**

 

PS  – Charlie was not as much help as he looks like he wants to be in the photo.

3 thoughts on “A Tale of Two Hats

I'm wondering what you're thinking?

