Wrap Up of Knit East

Two weeks ago I was fortunate to be able to attend Knit East in St. Andrews, NB. St. Andrews is only about a half hour drive from the ferry, so it is an incredible opportunity to be able to participate in this type of event in my own back yard. Knit East is two days of seminar/classes, a knit fashion show, and of course a marketplace.

I took 4 classes over the 2 days. The first was Stephanie Pearl McPhee’s “Knit Smart”. I’ve taken one of her classes each during each Knit East and the humour from her blog translates into class as well. I learned a lot about different types of yarn; what could work for what type of project; and yarn substitutions among other things.

My Saturday afternoon class was Celtic Cables with Melissa Leapman.  I found the technique for making these intricate cables a bit challenging, but I think I’d try them again (at least easier ones).

Sunday morning I took a Double Knitting class also taught by Melissa Leapman. This was the class I was most looking forward to.  I’ve wanted to try double knitting but was a bit intimidated to try on my own.  I ended up loving the technique and now I’m looking for patterns.

Sunday afternoon was Colour and Fair Isle with Fiona Ellis. I’m not great at picking out colour combinations, so it was fun to experiment with different combos and I was surprised by how good colours I wouldn’t have normally paired looked together. (She also had an amazing collection of her sweaters with her – WOW!)

Colour and FairIsle Experiment
Colour and FairIsle Experiment

(This swatch made me smile for the rest of my traveling week when I saw it in the top of my knitting bag).

All in all, it was a full weekend with a lot of new things learned. I’m already looking forward to the 2017 event! 🙂

One thought on “Wrap Up of Knit East

I'm wondering what you're thinking?

