Purple Slippers

Just before last Christmas a photo of a pair of red slippers went viral in my Facebook feed. I received several “subtle” hints for a pair, but given the debacle that was my Christmas knitting, they slid to the back burner.

 

Fast forward to this summer and a birthday. I had purchased some yarn that with the intent of knitting them at some point.  I grabbed my needles and started in.  I have to say, the foot was the craziest-ass thing I had knit for a while.  I couldn’t figure out what the heck was going on but I kept reminding myself to just follow the pattern.

IMG_8702

 

The leg was knit separately and sewed on.

IMG_8698

 

I made a modification to the foot: I did a three needle bind off instead of sewing up the foot.  I think it made a nicer finish (and I hate sewing).

In the end, I liked the finished product:

IMG_8816

 

IMG_8812


 

Purple Slippers

Pattern: 150-4 Little Red Riding Hood Slippers

Yarn: Viking of Norway Balder (468 Lillia)

Needles: Knitter’s Pride Marblz 6 mm (US 10) DPNs; Knit Picks Nickel Plated Interchangeables 6 mm (US 10)

Notes: Knit as pattern except for three needle bind off on the foot.  The yarn was soft but a bit splitty. It’s a true, rich colour.


Linking up with HardKnitLife‘s Freshly Finished Friday.

3 thoughts on “Purple Slippers

I'm wondering what you're thinking?

