If You Were a Tree, What Tree Would You Be?

Knitting-Crochet-Blog-Week-6-Banner

 

It’s Day 1 of Knitting and Crochet Blog Week, and I considered skipping today’s post:

 

Day One (Monday 11th May): If You Were Yarn.
If you were a type or brand of yarn, which would you be? Are you a classic pure wool? Is there extra tension but a bit of bounce in you because of your high twist? Would you be more like a high-maintainance, strictly hand-wash fluffy angora or a ‘bring it on’ acrylic, bravely heading into the world of possible baby-sick laundering disasters knowing that you will always come out bright and unharmed?

Spend some time browsing yarns and getting to know their qualities, and decide which yarn you think best matches your personality.

 

It reminded me WAY too much of the infamous question “If you were a tree, what tree would you be?”  I always hated that question and I never really had a good answer. Really, why would I want to be a tree?

 

So I’ve been thinking about it for a few weeks; ever since the topics were posted.  I wanted to come up with a great answer, really imaginative that summed up the yarn and me.

 

I’m still waiting for brilliance to strike.

 

But as the day was drawing to a close, I kept coming back to “you are what you buy” and for me: that has to be sock yarn. It’s reliable (I’d like to think I am, mostly). It can be colourful (I have the colourful language down). It occasionally gets worn out and needs a reboot (Sometimes there’s just not enough under-eye concealer).

IMG_7796

I’m not sure it’s brilliant or exciting (but really neither is sock yarn).  And that’s ok.

 

2 thoughts on “If You Were a Tree, What Tree Would You Be?

  1. I am truly inspired by your sock blanket! When I read what size you’d reached, it made me think “hmm…I could just whip up a square or two right after I finish these (or whichever) socks. Yeah. I could be done in…umm…2042.”

    Like

I'm wondering what you're thinking?

