Crafting Confessions

I don’t like handpainted yarn. Or at least, I don’t like the things I knit with handpainted yarn.  I understand the attraction: it looks so pretty in the skein.  I can’t tell you the number of times I’ve been lured in by a unique colour combination. Or a cool name.  Or a limited edition. Or a not-so-unique colour combination in colours I love.  You get the drift.

IMG_7698

But then it comes time to knit and I end up with inevitable pooling. I’ve tried different patterns and needles, but the end result is the same: awkward stripes or big blobs of colour. I’ve seen other people’s projects where the colours flow with no pooling. I admit to a certain amount a great deal of jealousy that they can create these wonders.

IMG_7701

With my latest pair of socks, I think I’ve finally accepted that I am a self-striping sock knitter.  I like my socks to match.  It actually bothers me when I can’t make them line up.

My name is Bonnie and I don’t like handpainted yarns.

IMG_7697

I wonder how long I’ll actually remember that.

10 thoughts on “Crafting Confessions

  1. There’s a way out: when you start your first sock, take good note of the color you start with and measure the distance to the next color. Then start your second sock exactly the same way. But I’m with you on the pooling and weird results, I prefer tonal or semi-tonal.

    Liked by 1 person

I'm wondering what you're thinking?

