Freshly Re-Finished Friday

As I was returning from vacation (literally as I re acquired Canadian cell coverage) I got a text from my sister asking if I could fix this:

Apparently my three year old nephew insisted on continuing to wear them. Darning has never been a skill of mine, but since this wasn’t technically darning, I thought I’d give it a try. My theory was simple; I’d rip back to the orange and re-knit the toe. I added a lifeline (dental floss) before inserting the needles.

Things were going along pretty well until I remembered one critical detail: I had woven in the ends of the orange yarn making it pretty much impossible to pick up the stitches evenly.  I ended up picking up the last snd second last rows and double knitting the stitches where possible. It doesn’t look that pretty from the inside:

But the outside looks almost normal.

Hopefully they’ll pass my nephew’s inspection and continue to be a favorite pair of socks.

I’m wondering if you have any tips for knitting repairs?

(Linking to HardKnitLife’s Freshly Finished Friday.)

5 thoughts on “Freshly Re-Finished Friday

  1. I’m not really good at darning either. I have a wooden egg and I managed to sort of fix one sock following a tutorial. I know there are several techniques that you can use depending on the type of repair that is required. I think I need more experience though before I can give tips. Just type darning socks in your favorite search engine and you will find techniques.

    Liked by 1 person

I'm wondering what you're thinking?

