Everyone’s Different

Today in my Facebook newsfeed appeared a link to a blog post entitled “5 ways to make using DPNs easier“.  I clicked it with a little smugness; I love knitting with DPNs so I was SURE I was already doing most of things on the list. Maybe I’d pick up a trick or two, but I had DPNs down.

I do none of them. Not a single one.

After I picked my chin up off my keyboard I had a little chuckle.  They’re good tips.  They would work well.  But they don’t necessarily work for me.

~~~

1. Cast on all stitches onto one needle

It’s a great way to not twist the stitches.  But slipping fingering weight yarn from one 2.25 mm to another makes me want to stab my eyeball with said needle.  Enough said.

2. Start your round mid-needle

It’s a great idea to avoid joining between 2 needles and the (sometimes inevitable) twist. I think it would rock if knitting stripes with non-self-striping yarn.  But without a stitch marker, I’m not sure I’d ever know where the “beginning” and “end” was.  (That’s not necessarily a deal breaker for me).  I might try this sometime.

3. Use 4 DPNs, not 5

The triangle theory that’s explained in the post makes sense, but I end up with fewer ladders when I use 5 needles (square vs. triangle). I also like the same number of stitches on my each of my needles (anal, I know) and I can divide by 4 easier than 3.

4. Stop mid-needle

This is brilliant.  I like finishing at the end of a needles; it feels, well, finished; but I need to attempt to reduce needle loss anyway I can.

5. Use grippy needles

I’ve used wooden needles, bamboo needles, and square needles.  My current favourite sock needle? Basic round, metal needles from Knit Picks.

~~~

Does this mean I don’t know what I’m doing when I use my DPNs? No.  Does it mean I think the list is crap? No. I think it’s why there are no knitting police: do what works for you.  Try to learn from other people.  And please, be careful not to twist.

6 thoughts on “Everyone’s Different

  1. Interesting tips. Funny because I was thinking recently of trying the start of the round in the middle of a needle. And I do most often knit with 4 rather than 5, unless specifically requested. It is easier to manage. Magic loop is not for me either, the only time it worked fine was for sleeves, but for socks, I choose DPNs, for sure.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love my dpns too! This list was interesting. I do #1 and #3, numbers 2 and 4 are super interesting and I want to try them out. I love my square needles but lost one, usually stick with bamboo.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh we definitely are. These were interesting, though.

    1. I can not stand casting all onto one needle. It drives me nuts and actually makes it harder for me, not easier. :/

    2. I’ve done this too and … It’s ok. it’s not my favorite, but it’s ok.

    3. THIS I do! 4 is so much easier for me to handle.

    4. Hm. Have to admit, I hadn’t thought of this.

    5. What I end up using for needles really depends on the project. I have metal DPNs and I have wooden, but my go to are my Karbonz, which is a nice balance between the two. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I'm wondering what you're thinking?

