What I Learned from NaBloPoMo

NaBloPoMo stands for National Blog Post Month, during which you publish a blog post every day for the month of November.  If you look at the calendar on the right, you can see that I’ve managed to do that. (Assuming this post posts on schedule; that always makes me nervous).

When I started, I wasn’t sure I would be able to do it. Posting something everyday is a commitment.  November can be a busy month at my job, so I knew it could be particularly challenging some days.  I tried to have some quotes and ideas ready ahead of time for those days. (By the end of the month, it definitely felt like I didn’t have enough; 30 days is a lot!)

Participating in Photo 101 helped as well; even though I was generally several days behind on the assignments. I enjoyed the challenge of interpreting the prompt. The tips pushed me to think about the way I take a photo – I find myself taking photos in portrait and landscape now just to see the difference.

What I learned is posting everyday isn’t for me (that wasn’t really a surprise). What was a bit of a surprise is that sometimes just a quick quote or photo also generated responses from people. Going forward I would like to try to post more frequently, even if I don’t feel that I particularly have something to say.

I’m wondering what your thoughts are on NaBloPoMo?

3 thoughts on “What I Learned from NaBloPoMo

  1. So that’s why I noticed some bloggers posting a lot! Makes sense now 🙂
    As far as people responding to quick posts, I think that’s true of blogging in general. It’s not really my thing, but I think a lot of people enjoy something very quick that requires little attention or effort. I’ve been surprised to see that there are some very popular blogs that only offer a picture or a recycled quote, things like that. To each his own I guess.
    Congrats on posting every day for a month!

    Like

  2. I did not participate in NaBloPoMo, but I did enjoy reading everyone’s posts. I certainly admire you for posting everyday! What a fun challenge! I also really enjoyed your photos. It’s always so nice to escape to someone else’s world and see what they see 🙂

    Like

I'm wondering what you're thinking?

