Handmade Gifts

As I ponder my overwhelming list of knit things not done compared to the ever shortening number of days to Christmas it is good to be reminded about why I make handmade gifts.

 

One of the unpurchasable gifts from my mother and both my grandmothers was the ability and desire to make homemade gifts.  They knit, crocheted, and sewed, and we all received innumerable handmade things from them over the years.  I also learned that making things was a way to show you cared; you were essentially giving the gift of your time; time that you spent making things. I’m not sure I fully appreciated that as a child, but I did as I got older. Crafting is a link to them, a link I’m hoping to pass on to my nieces.

 

 

I'm wondering what you're thinking?

