Daily Prompt: Connectivity Issues

When I read today’s Daily Prompt:

“You’re at the airport, your flight is delayed for six more hours, and none of your electronic devices is working. How do you pass the time?”

I thought: “That’s easy; I’m a knitter.” I always almost always pack enough yarn for 6 days, let alone 6 hours. Travel for me normally involves a 1.5 hour ferry crossing, so waiting is just a part of life. I’m not always patient (6 hours is a long time) and I’m sure I’d get fidgety without electronics, but I think I’d come out ok. Knitting’s good for stress, right?

Then I started today’s travel…

 

photo

 

That’s the ferry compound where we wait to load (see the ferry peaking between the two buildings). It’s not a terminal, but it’s still waiting to travel. Before the ferry arrived, I tried to go online and discovered this:

IMG_0138

 

Suddenly my smugness about how I’d cope with the daily prompt seemed a little premature. I knew I was already facing limited connectivity over the next 30-ish hours. I’m traveling in the US and didn’t bother to get a travel plan for my cell phone for that short amount of time. I’m very conscious that every time I use my phone, it’s costing money so I’m trying to use it as little as possible. It seemed cruel to start two hours sooner than required.

Needless to say, I survived. (I did ask to have the TV turned on on the ferry. It doesn’t count if it’s not my electronic device, right?) When I checked in, the clerk said “By the way, our wifi isn’t that great.”

Somehow I should have guessed.

And someone hand me my yarn.

 

 

 

I'm wondering what you're thinking?

