Eating my way through the Seafood Forum

One of the great things about living in this corner of the world is the amazing seafood. Working for a fishermen’s organization, I totally cop to having a bias on the subject. 2014 marked the 5th Annual Bay of Fundy Seafood Week which includes a Seafood Forum for industry participants as well as a Seafood Festival to showcase local seafood to the public. While I enjoy the topics that are discussed at the Forum presentations, one of the hi lights for me has always been the Chef’s Gala Dinner. Attending a Gala is something I do exactly once a year, but I do enjoy the opportunity to pretend to be a Foodie for a few hours.

The place setting.
The place setting.

Each course is prepared by a different chef and it is really interesting to hear what they have created and the inspiration behind it.

First Course
First Course

The first course was Fiddlehead Crusted Atlantic Salmon, Citrus Watercress Salad, Cucumber-Mint Pearls with a Pomegranate Reduction. Great start to the evening.

Second Course
Second Course

The second course was Seared Sea Scallop, Grand Manan Nori Dust, Fennel-Chorizo Confit, and Wild Garlic Pesto. (This was my favourite).

Third Course
Third Course

The third course was Herring Sashimi, Smoked Oyster Salad, and Pickled Ginger Beets. I’ve never been a huge herring fan despite my father’s best efforts. I think part of my issue has been with eating the whole fish; it’s the concept of it. However, despite how different some of the dishes have been at past events, I’ve never not eaten them; I’ve always wanted to have the entire experience. (My father’s efforts to have me try everything at least once did pay off there). And trying it did pay off – it was a really good.

Fourth Course
Fourth Course

The fourth course was Roasted Lobster with Saffron and Andalusian “Ajilimojili”.  The chef for this course was from Granada, Spain, who incorporated some Spanish flavours (and used the entire lobster). The black ball was squid ink (again, slightly sketched out) but I enjoyed it. Very different from the usual lobster and melted butter.

Fifth Course
Fifth Course

The fifth course (that we affectionately called the chocolate course) was Brandy Scented Chocolate Mousse Cake, Chocolate Ganache, Creme Anglasie, Strawberry Rhubarb Coulis/Tuile/Cookie Dust/French Vanilla Ice Cream.  With my love of chocolate, I really can’t describe how good this was. My determination to finish each of my plates made me the last person to finish at the table, but it was totally worth it. The 2014 Chef’s Gala was once again my favourite part of the Forum.

I'm wondering what you're thinking?

