Writing 101 – Day Three of Missing Assignments

A few weeks ago I signed up for Writing 101.  Every weekday in June a writing assignment would be posted.  I’ve found that blog writing is very different from work writing and I was hoping by the end of the month that I would find myself more easily able to write a post.  Like so many things, it seemed like a good idea at the time.

Flash forward to this week.  I’m not sure exactly what happened, but my free time for anything has been at a premium, and the rest of the week isn’t looking much better. I feel like I’m skipping class and trying to cram to get the assignment’s done.  Day one’s assignment was to unlock your mind and free write for 20 minutes.  Monday did not really result in 20 minutes of free time for anything.  Today’s assignment was to write for 15 minutes straight without stopping or editing and just let the thoughts flow. I’m a little scared of what may flow today in these few moments of free time I have.

Instead, I’m going to focus on Day two, with a twist. That assignment was to talk about where you would go, if you could be anywhere.  For right now, in this moment, I’m there.  I’m in a beautiful, renovated hotel room with almost an hour of free time before getting ready for the next event. Whenever I’ve stayed here in the past, I’ve had awesome rest, even on work travel. It’s a serene, calm place.

photo 1

I even got an upgrade to a suite – sweet! 🙂

photo 2

I'm wondering what you're thinking?

