It’s like it’s magic

Victoria Day Monday I decided I needed to try something new, at least for the second time. A couple years after I started knitting again, I tried to knit 2 socks on one circular needle. I believe I got them cast on, couldn’t figure what I was supposed to do with the cables and loops and joining, hauled the stitches off the needle and went back to my double points.

I’ve been happily knitting socks on double points for 8 years at least. While I have no idea how many I’ve knit, it’s probably approaching 100 pair. I’m fortunate in my job I can knit during some meetings (I’m conscious about when it’s appropriate or not) and plain socks are my go to for those times; it’s a great way to churn out the inches of stockinette and still pay attention to what is happening. But every once in a while I’d look at my “2-at-a-time socks” book and think “I should really try that again”.

So Monday was the day. I got out my yarn and my needle and a big cup of coffee. I made up my mind to follow the directions, no matter how weird they seemed. (This I learned from Entrelac: no matter how wrong it seems, if you follow directions it will eventually work out, even if it doesn’t ever make sense).

This can't be right...
This can’t be right…

Much to my surprise and amazement, it worked! It is still one of the craziest knitting things to me – that somehow these two socks appear to be “passing” each other on one circular needle. I’m still finding the loops and yarn a little awkward. It was probably not helped by the fact I added a contrasting colour of yarn to complicate things. I keep thinking I’ll have to remember for the next one and then I realize, when I’m done, I’m done. How cool is that? (I’m not thinking about how this is the first of 9 pair of socks for Christmas gifts; no need to rain on my parade just yet).

It worked!
It worked!

I’m not ready to give up my double points, but I can see doing more socks this way, especially for those I think are going to be difficult to mate up. I’m really excited I’ve finally managed to figure this out but…

...Apparently it's not that exciting for everyone.
…Apparently it’s not that exciting for everyone.

 

8 thoughts on “It’s like it’s magic

  1. I’m impressed by this technique and have not tried it yet. Maybe one day. I still have to master the magic loop. I’m sure you will not have any of these ungainly gaps that come when using DPNs: no matter how hard I pull on the next stitches, there is always this tiny line where I switched from one DPN to another. Maybe I will try it after making as many pair of socks as you have done – 100 pairs !! Wow!

    Like

    1. I actually have worse gaps on this pair of socks, at least at the beginning. I’m hoping they will improve as I go. I think it just part of learning something new.

      Like

  2. I have yet to tackle this method. I’ve used double points and 2 circulars to knit socks, but not this. You make it look effortless! I will have to give it a try next time. I also love that you just need 1 needle 🙂 I’ve really enjoyed reading your posts Bonnie and I’ve nominated you and your blog for a Liebster Award on my blog. It’s totally voluntary to participate but I just wanted to share. Thanks for posting about this cool technique. I may need to try it for Technique Tuesday 🙂
    Thanks!
    Jenna

    Like

I'm wondering what you're thinking?

