Kiddie Cadet Hat

After the debacle of my previous attempt at a hat, I decided to go for something simple and straightforward, except that I kept picturing a brim which made it slightly less simple and straightforward.  The Kiddie Cadet Hat seemed to fit the bill (pun intended).

IMG_4433

It really was an easy knit.  The hat portion is knit first and then stitches are picked up for the brim.  The brim involves a “wrap and turn” which I struggled with when I knit toe up socks a few years ago.  I’ve avoided patterns with it in them ever since.  This time, it came together and I’m really happy with the cute little brim on the hat.

IMG_4435

The yarn is Spud & Chloe Sweater in “Lake” that I’ve had in my stash for ages.  I really liked the super wash wool/cotton mix.  I think it will be very appropriate for this cold spring we’re having.

I'm wondering what you're thinking?

