Earth Day 2014

I think one of the good things about Earth Day is that it makes us take stock of what we are (or aren’t) doing for the environment.  I believe it’s important that everyone should do their part, so:

  • I use re-useable grocery bags (when I remember to take them into the store).
  • I use cloth napkins instead of paper napkins or paper towel.  It was amazing to me how much less paper towel I buy since I started this a few years ago (though my usage skyrockets when nieces or nephews visit).
  • I try to buy local (or at least the same continent with winter produce).
  • I am a huge fan of the ceramic refillable coffee mugs.  Tim Horton’s “Roll up the Rim to Win” makes me crazy when I hand them my refillable mug and they hand it back to me with one of their empty cups so I can play.  I have actually written to their customer service and asked for an alternative for those of us using refillable cups, but that wouldn’t be in keeping with “rolling up the rim”.

These things are not exciting or monumental.  There’s always more that could be done:

  • I haven’t installed solar panels (but I think it would be cool).
  • I hate water-saving shower heads (and mine isn’t).
  • I still use the drive through (ironically with my refillable mug).
  • I don’t have a clothes line.  (I do not enjoy laundry.  I’m likely to forget whatever I had on the line until it was foggy/damp and still end up putting it in the clothes dryer.  Why burden myself with the extra step?)

I’ve chosen to do things that I can consistently do day after day, year after year.  I don’t really think the amount of paper towel I’m not throwing out will make a difference but I believe everyone doing a little will.  It’s all about doing your part.

And maybe considering a clothes line…

 

 

2 thoughts on “Earth Day 2014

I'm wondering what you're thinking?

