Jello Easter Cookies

Tonight I tried a Pinterest recipe for Jello cookies.  I’m always a little nervous trying a Pinterest recipe.  Some turn out decent; others, well, clearly I’m not following the same directions.

I was looking for a dessert item that my nephew with a corn allergy could have.  Jello is ok for him to eat, but he doesn’t like it.  (Nor my nieces; it makes me question the quirks of DNA). Cookies on the other hand are generally a good option, and brightly coloured cookies seemed even cooler.

Jello sugar stations
Jello sugar stations

I used lemon, orange, raspberry, grape, and berry blue Jello.  The original post says you can add food colouring for brighter colouring; I chose not to and all but the lemon had bright colours.

Raspberry and orange cookies out of the oven.
Raspberry and orange cookies out of the oven.

After the trauma of a scented Fruity Pebbles flashback when all the Jello was out of the packages, I was a little concerned about the taste, but I tried a lemon and was surprised at how much I liked it.  I’m doing a taste test at the office tomorrow.

IMG_4344 IMG_4345

I doubled the recipe and ended up with well over 60 cookies.  I was about 2 1/2 hours from start to clean-up.  The most time consuming part was kneading the Jello powder into the dough.  Definitely a Pinterest success.

I'm wondering what you're thinking?

