Vacation Knitting

I just got home from vacation – a little over 2 weeks in Florida.  It was great to have some warmer weather and a bit of down time.  There was also yarn involved. 😀

My traveling project was a second sock.  Between the flights down and home, I managed to finish the sock:

IMG_4186

They are a vanilla sock in Opal Hundertwasser.  Just have the ends left to sew in.

My oldest niece has a birthday April 2.  I’m knitting each of my nieces and nephews mittens and a sock yarn monkey for their birthdays, so I wanted to get a good start on her birthday gift.  I finished the mittens:

photo

They are a basic mitten pattern from Patons Yarn.  This was my first time using Willow Daily Worsted.  I didn’t find it quite as soft as Cascade 220 Superwash, but it is a good yarn at about half the price.  (Considering the rate these kids lose mittens, that’s a good thing! 😉 )

I also started her sock yarn monkey:

IMG_4188

but there’s definitely some assembly still required (hopefully this weekend).

Finally, for the days on the beach watching the kids playing, I worked on dishcloths.  I knit them throughout the year; use some for birthday gifts and the rest I give as Christmas gifts.  My go-to dishcloth pattern is the Garterlac Dishcloth.  I always have one in my purse to work on in waiting rooms, etc.

IMG_4187

I finished 4 on the beach.  The bottom fuchsia is in Peaches & Creme; the 2 dark dishcloths are Knit Picks Dishie; and the blue is Bernat Handicrafter Striping.

All in all, it was a very productive knitting holiday!

IMG_4189

I'm wondering what you're thinking?

